E3 2017: What I Hope to See

people man guy beard mustache virtual reality video games technology

 

Believe it or not, I’ve been gaming since I was five and I haven’t stopped, even after all this time. I’ve been a bit out of the loop as far as games in recent years since the Wii U didn’t appeal to me much and I’d been low on finances anyway. Even so, Nintendo’s Switch has me wanting to see what’s been going on in recent years.

I may not be able to “properly” cover E3 since it’s during the work week, but I can at least outline a few things I hope to see. Brace yourself, my opinions are likely unusual as far as gamers go! Also, disclaimer: The only game systems I own are a non-functioning Gamecube, an ancient gaming laptop, and a 3DS covered in duct tape to keep the screens together. Take my opinions however you will. (That said, I still think they’re pretty valid.)

About E3

E3 has been held every year since I was a kid and it’s essentially when a ton of big name gaming companies get together and show off what they’ve got planned for the coming year. The biggest three companies, Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo, each have keynote speeches that they give for that exact purpose.

It’s also when we get the most news about upcoming games, so it’s a pretty big deal. Game companies like to reveal things they’ve been keeping absolutely quiet on during E3, which is why there’s immense hype surrounding it. This year, E3 will take place from June 13th to June 15th.

What I Want to See From Nintendo

New Smash Bros.! Mostly because I missed out on the last one, heh heh. I hope the roster doesn’t get too crazy, otherwise I’ll have a tough time deciding who to main. (What a problem to have!)

New Animal Crossing! Please please please please please please plea–

More details on Super Mario Odyssey. The trailer looks absolutely beautiful and I can’t wait for it to come out. I absolutely loved Galaxy when it came out, and this looks just as stunning.

More information on what this statement from Reggie Fils-Aime is supposed to mean. If it isn’t Metroid Prime 4 or Mother 4, I’m not interested.

More information on the new Fire Emblem game for Switch. It’s been a while since there’s been one for a home console, so I’m excited!

What I Want to See From Sony

The Last of Us 2, since Death Stranding is apparently skipping E3 this year. Especially since Joel freaking [spoilers] at the end of The Last of Us! AUGH!

What I Want to See From Microsoft

More Details on Scorpio, mostly because I’m curious. I have a feeling this is what Microsoft is going to be focusing on anyway. I’ve never been a fan of anything Microsoft has put out, so we’ll see if they can sway me.

Others Things I Want to Know More About

Starfield, an open-world game set in outer space and supposedly by Bethesda, the makers of The Elder Scrolls and Fallout. YES. PLEASE. I would play the ever loving daylights out of that thing!

On a similar note, I hope the Switch’s Skyrim port has mod support somehow. Although I love the idea of being able to take my Skyrim with me wherever I go, I can’t get too excited if I don’t have any mods available to me. We’ll see how things pan out.

One last thing, speaking of Bethesda: Elder Scrolls VI when, guys? :3

 

Leave a Reply

